Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Basic Civility

This subject viz a vie bicycling has been growing more irksome the last few years. It's always hard to tell if the world is changing at a faster rate or if the changes are in my own attitudes as both are obviously in motion constantly. I have been fairly committed as the years accumulate to not becoming and old curmudgeon, so my guess is that the manners and mores are in more rapid flux than I. It seems that for as long as I can remember if you were out riding on the open road and you saw another bicycle coming towards you, you would nod or wave or somehow acknowledge that cyclist and then they would return the greeting. If you were passing someone going the same way it was standard to say something, no matter how briefly. It could be a simple, "Hi", or if you were not in a big hurry you might comment on the fellow riders bike or mention what a splendid day it was to be out riding, etc. These were expected courtesies and only the real greenhorns or real idiots didn't abide by them. There was of course always room for exceptions. If you were pounding out a sprint or an interval or killing it on a climb no one expected you to have the energy or attention for a greeting, but these circumstances were exceptional.
All this seems to be changing. Now it is not uncommon when you wave at someone else on a bike to have that wave ignored or worse. For several years I have tried to not get upset by this, a simple shrug and the thought, "what an idiot" sufficed, but this year I have changed my tact. I now don't take no for an answer. Here are three examples of my ongoing evolution as far as this goes. All are in the category of passing or being passed by other riders going the same direction, normally the more social encounter.
1. A few months ago I see a guy ahead of me on a touring bike as I'm riding up the very lightly travelled access road parallel 101 between Avila and SLO. I pass him on the left giving him lots of room because there's lots of room available and say a polite "Howdy". No response - not even a glance. I keep riding, but then think, "No, this will not stand." I dropped back and riding right next to him say hi again. Still no response so I say, "Hey, I said hi." He then gets all peevish on me and says back, "You're supposed to say "on your left" when you pass somebody." I think whaa the hell you talking about, who's rule is that? Instead of getting all up in his face I shake my head in disbelief and say, "You've got to be kidding me?"
2. Just the other day I'm cruising out LOVR just out of SLO on the way to Los Osos. A very fit woman on a nice bike, obviously a commuter is ahead of me. I very slowly overtake her and as I pull next to her say, "Good afternoon" - no response - how rude! So I check to make sure she doesn't have ear buds in or some mitigating factor, and then keeping pace with her say once again, but a bit louder, "Hi." She reluctantly replies and continues to stare stone faced ahead. OK fine have a bad day!
3. Yesterday, as I was turning onto LOVR from Turri Rd. 2.5 hours into a 3.0 hour ride, a fit young rider all kitted out pulls up next to me says not a word and turns towards town. He's really motoring, but my legs are solid for the moment so I reel him back in in a few hundred yards and engage him in conversation. It turns out that he's a perfectly decent local kid, keen on bikes and happy to chat about them the six or seven miles we're on the same road. Finally, success, I refuse to be ignored and a positive outcome ensues - stubbornness rules!

No comments:

Post a Comment